Picture
An oxymoron is a turn of phrase where you put two contradictory terms together, either on accident or to make a point. The most famous oxymoron in the United States is "congressional intelligence." Oxymorons can also become cliches such as "bittersweet" or "deafening silence." 

Jordan
1/28/2013 10:49:55 pm

Are you sure that congressional intelligence is an oxymoron? it seems like more of an opinion. I can understand the others though.

Reply
Anna
1/28/2013 11:00:33 pm

I agree that an oxymoron is a turn of a phrase. One of my favorite phrases that is also a oxymoron is the phrase "living dead." I think it's interesting that you made a blog detailing what an oxymoron is.

Reply
Sally
1/28/2013 11:02:17 pm

I like how you said that congressional intelligence is an oxymoron, thats very funny. Some other very commonly used oxymorons along the same lines are "fighting for peace" or "military intelligence."

Reply



Leave a Reply.