Picture
Characterization is a literary element that I often overlook, since it is so prevalent in the majority of writing. It is essentially anything that is in the text or implied by the text that furthers your understanding of a character. This could include background information, a thought, an action, a perception of the character's, a perception of the character itself, and more. Although I often miss characterization as a standalone element, you cannot fail to notice its effects. Without characterization we would all be reading only phone books and science textbooks.

Anna
1/28/2013 11:07:53 pm

I think its clever that you chose to use a picture of a popular cartoon character for your icon. I also agree with how you feel about characterization. It is so widely used sometimes I just forget to notice it.

Reply



Leave a Reply.